Shop Mobile More Submit  Join Login
I need your opinion! ( wip ferret) by LisaToms I need your opinion! ( wip ferret) by LisaToms
I would greatly appreciate if you could give me your opinion about this ferret face I'm sculpting.

It's mostly about the general shape of the face, not the detail or symmetry because it's still very unfinished and this things will probably change. As you can see the fur texture isn't in all the face because isn't finished. (* and note that isn't an entire head, but only a face. The ears will be made of fabric and the rest of the head will be faux fur, like in most of my dolls)

So I need your opinion about if this face looks like a real ferret or not, if there's any feature I should change.

I've been looking for a lot of ferret faces in photos and I see that facial features may change a lot in each ferret but I need to know if you can see a random, normal shaped ferret in this face or if it looks weird because of a concrete feature.

I always try to see the errors by myself and I'm also doing  it in this one, but knowing your opinion would help me a lot :)

Thank you!
Add a Comment:
DeliriouStudios Featured By Owner Apr 10, 2014  Student Digital Artist
From a distance (thumbnail) I thought it was a Seal head, but that might be because there is no body.
Schattenwolle Featured By Owner Oct 26, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
I like it. :D
She-Foxy Featured By Owner Sep 23, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
id say the muzzle needs to be slightly larger
bambii7 Featured By Owner Aug 21, 2013  Hobbyist Interface Designer
Love your sculptures! Amazing. What material are you using to sculpt in?
Initially when I saw this pic I was thinking otter, I thought ferrets had a slightly stumpier snout? But I'm not an expert, and it still amazes me.
Koeskull Featured By Owner Aug 15, 2013  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
I used to have ferrets and this looks pretty good, mine were females though so they weren't as wide/chunky in the face. Just remember that their whole heads are much longer compared to just the face…
leopardluver11 Featured By Owner Aug 12, 2013  Hobbyist
It looks like my brothers ferret Mr.Weanie
leopardluver11 Featured By Owner Aug 9, 2013  Hobbyist
Looks exacly like it have two of my own
CheezayBallz Featured By Owner Aug 9, 2013  Professional Digital Artist
holy cow!
that's incredible
EnvyFangurl07 Featured By Owner Aug 8, 2013  Hobbyist Digital Artist
looks like an otter
JessieWings1221 Featured By Owner Oct 22, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
I was thinking the same thing! I love the otters at my local zoo (Teeter and Totter Otter). I was just thinking that this sculpture looks exactly like them. I love it all the same. what material do you use? Cause it looks so real!
EnvyFangurl07 Featured By Owner Oct 22, 2013  Hobbyist Digital Artist
i like a mixture of clays and i put paper and flakes of dried paint in it to make them unique and give it its own life
crumbleupsoul Featured By Owner Aug 4, 2013  Student Digital Artist
I think it looks realistic of course but i dont think it matters on the face because in all honesty if you take a husky face sculpted and a wolfs face sculpted they look alike along with a ferret and a otter they look alike
SgraffitoFerret Featured By Owner Aug 1, 2013   Artisan Crafter
Seems a bit short to be a ferret... or a bit... fat? Not as narrow as a real ferret, imo. Then again, maybe I just owned narrow ferrets. ;)
NiemaIna Featured By Owner Aug 1, 2013
Hi there! I think it looks pretty close to a ferret, the details are all very good. However, it does come across a little seal/otter-y, which I think could be helped if you thinned out the cheeks more. I think ferrets have a little more angular/thin faces, more like a rectangular prism than the kind of rounder cone-y appearance your sculpture appears to have. But I'm also pretty sure that once you add in the details and finish it, it'll clearly be a ferret. Hope I made sense!
Congrats on the piece so far, it is gorgeous!
IsenVarulven Featured By Owner Aug 1, 2013
Personally, I love it. Looks very real.
nitroxvi Featured By Owner Aug 1, 2013  Hobbyist Digital Artist
this is probably waaay too late to mean anything
but it actually reminds me more of an otter than a ferret.
wolfgirl333 Featured By Owner Jul 28, 2013
Before I read your post I thought it was a seal lol :P Well it still looks great whatever you end up doing with it.
Arabianwolflove Featured By Owner Jul 28, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist

I actually own a ferret :heart: her name is Sophia but I call her Soph-a-loaf :la:

 The nose is a bit longer but not much, this is done almost perfectly. And in the front view, the 'cheeks' aren't that big.

 Otherwise, this is pretty awesome

Arrow-Cat Featured By Owner Jul 27, 2013
Very good! Although, I have never seen a work of yours that isn't good! I think it looks great, keep going! I would love to see this cute little guy finished! :)
Aleu20 Featured By Owner Jul 27, 2013  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
I think that it is so adorable you are so good and making things like that :)
silverlunawolf6 Featured By Owner Jul 26, 2013  Hobbyist Writer
If you need to see ferrets in action, Pets 101: Ferrets is on youtube, you could use that for reference. It seems pretty good, but we'll only know for certain once it's complete!
fruitbatslyra Featured By Owner Jul 25, 2013  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
It looks great! I look at it once and can see what a handsome ferret he will become! :D
CheynaBear Featured By Owner Jul 22, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
for a second i though it was a river otter face til i saw the front side... its cute!:happybounce: 
CabinetCuriosities Featured By Owner Jul 22, 2013  Hobbyist Artist
It looks nice already. Not 100% like a ferret but almost.
HeartOfStoneRescue Featured By Owner Jul 22, 2013
ahh here's the thing, are you looking to make a female ferret, or a male ferret?
They exhibit sexual dimorphism, males tend to have broader faces, wider noses, and are much larger than females.
Females have pointier faces and are a lot smaller.

That face looks male to me though.

There are also some differences between regular ferrets and hybrids..and your guy is looking like he has some polecat in him, but so far so good (especially since 99% of people dont even realise they have a hybrid anyhow)

one thing though, you can usually see the top canines just slightly near the top lip, they poke out just a little, though this trait does not happen in all ferrets (it is more likely to happen in a ferret with a mouth like yours). look here, you can JUST see the tooth :)

if you need a specific photo of a ferret face, i can probably get one of mine to stay still and pose long enough to take a photo.
LisaToms Featured By Owner Jul 22, 2013  Professional General Artist
Yes, I wanted to base it more in a male.
What's a polecat btw?? I've seen some photos of them and I thought they were ferrets! Maybe I download photos of male ferrets and polecats and was inspired by both ^^;
About the canines, I know that, but I'm not sure if I want to make them or not.
Thank you for the help, I'll need you know if I would need more ferret references, but I think I have enough :P
HeartOfStoneRescue Featured By Owner Jul 23, 2013
A polecat is the wild form of the ferret. Like dogs and wolves, they are technically the same species, can interbreed, but I believe are classified differently due to domestication.
People often cross ferrets with polecats to make 'working' strains of ferret, that is ferrets that have enough of the natural instincts of the polecat to be useful for hunting rabbits.

I have a lot of hybrids dumped on me because people buy them cheap thinking they are suitable pets for inexperienced handlers, and soon find they are too difficult to handle (I personally prefer them to the average purebred domestic ferret because they are more robust and less likely to develop diseases like insulinoma and adrenal disease - both quite prevalent in normal ferrets), but they are more difficult to train out of nipping, and are not suitable for first-time ferret owners.

Most people wont be able to tell the difference at a glance, only a polecat is larger than a ferret, tends to have a slightly wider face, a more pungent smell, and actual survival instincts.
HeartOfStoneRescue Featured By Owner Jul 23, 2013 <--- polecat, notice the broader head, and thicker, more robust body <--- domestic ferret, notice the thinner, more pointed face and more slender body. <--- working ferrets, probably infused with a fair bit of polecat blood, then selectively bred for performance <--- what appears to be a female ferret, and a male polecat/ferret hybrid

HeartOfStoneRescue Featured By Owner Jul 22, 2013
Also people, if you have ever seen a ferret in a swimming pool, you might very well mistake it for an otter, the main difference between ferrets and otters in the face is the ears....not the face :P
That said, to me that looks like a big, boofy working type ferret.
There are different 'types' of ferret, and my guess is the ones most of you have seen have little to no working blood in them.
If you look at this: 

it is a baby working ferret, and matured to look almost exactly like that sculpture up there.
He's about 45-50% polecat ;)

KierstenViolette Featured By Owner Jul 21, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
My ferrets are a bit thinner in the face. So to me this looked a tad more otter-ish than ferret to me. But it's definitely close since otters and ferrets are related. Excited to see it finished!
TheMotor Featured By Owner Jul 21, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
retrz89trweejesrtgtrehrj4ztrjzew OMG. Sorry for the spazming- but this is amazingly adorable!!!! You caught the face and head structure completely- and ferret heads are hard to make. I have a ferret, Otto- he's about 5 years old now. So I'm just so heartwarmed right now. The thing that impresses me is how you managed to catch the look in the eyes- a typical ferrety look. I can't wait to see it finished cx
Again, I apologize for my spazming xD
RubyDarlingsluckyone Featured By Owner Jul 21, 2013  Professional Artisan Crafter
i could be the colour of it that fools you to think it's the wrong shape. :o But, the nose should be a little bit thinner i think,, and the eyes may be a tiiiiiny bit of, but only a tiny bit :o
Jeskl Featured By Owner Jul 20, 2013
i first see something more of an otter 
but what ever it is sooooooooo cute <3
Zyden Featured By Owner Jul 20, 2013  Professional Digital Artist
Ferret's noses are shorter and a bit more snubbed with a lighter facial structure. But other than that suggestion, this is beautifully well done.
Blueberriebunny Featured By Owner Jul 20, 2013
It looks more like a seal to me from the side XD So cute!
NekoTheNecromancer Featured By Owner Jul 20, 2013  Student General Artist
I'de like to state out first that this is a lovely sculpture and all of your sculptures are lovely. Now, I agree with Bluekoinu and ThinmintXD that it looks at bit more like a seal or an otter. I found a picture on google that may help with all the bumps and shaping of the head.
Again, all your sculptures are lovely and I thank you for your time!

Sylvaerian Featured By Owner Jul 19, 2013  Student General Artist
The nose looks a wee too long, and I agree with Inu- it is a bit too round instead of wedge-shaped. Otherwise however, it looks amazing!
thinmintXD Featured By Owner Jul 19, 2013  Hobbyist Artisan Crafter
I agree with ~bluekoinu. It looks a bit more like a seal or otter. Perhaps if the features were sculpted a bit more sharply, and it had that slight playful, energetic look.. It'd be spot on. ;)
bluekoinu Featured By Owner Jul 19, 2013  Professional Digital Artist
It appears the muzzle of the ferret is a little too thick, especially the profile. Ferrets tend to have a more pointed/sharp muzzle while this one appears rounded giving it an otter or seal look. Otherwise looks very good.
hallofunpeople Featured By Owner Jul 19, 2013  Hobbyist Photographer
Super realistic!! I love realism!!
Madelei Featured By Owner Jul 18, 2013  Professional Filmographer
I think the reason a lot of people are saying "otter" may be because of the thickness of the muzzle, especially in the front view.  If you narrow the cheek/lip flaps out a little bit, and once the whiskers on on there, I think it'll look very ferret-like!
MisteriaWolf Featured By Owner Jul 18, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
So much yes! That face <3
AliyaBloodHeart Featured By Owner Jul 18, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
I love the details, its very cute and realistic, it kind of reminds me of otters though, but that is probably more the colour of the clay :P
NerdyArtist147 Featured By Owner Jul 18, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
I think it looks great!
AmikoDesu Featured By Owner Jul 18, 2013
Thats so cute!<3 It looks so good and detaled!
Eviecats Featured By Owner Jul 18, 2013
Hi Lisa, first of all let me just say your dolls are among my favorites and I had to dig deep to find constructive corrections for this piece.  My mother in law has a ferret for years so I've had the opportunity to handle one as well as refreshing myself with some google photos.  At first I thought maybe the jaw was too thick but it seems perfect, so now what i think my issue might be is maybe bring the cheeks down ever so slightly?  They have very VERY long fangs that overhang their bottom lip slightly so their cheeks sheath them slighty lower (think a fox or cat with fangs slightly visible).  The only other thing i could see to suggest is that their noses do dip slightly to give them a bit of a cute button effect, yours looks a little "Roman" (high arched if that isn't a common term there) I disagree with some other comments saying the forehead is too high, i think it's fine.
Unwillingreaper Featured By Owner Jul 18, 2013
I agree completely with you. Wonderful assessment. I was going to say the same thing about the nose.
Eviecats Featured By Owner Jul 19, 2013
Thank you!  =)  have a great weekend!
AnimalLover12411 Featured By Owner Jul 18, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
I think it's a bit too... tall? I guess that would be the word. From what I know about ferrets, the width and length are good, but it seems to tall, making it seem more otter-like.
vampire-wolf-girl Featured By Owner Jul 18, 2013  Student Artist
In my opinion its very otter like but still adorable.
Add a Comment:


Submitted on
July 17, 2013
Image Size
3.4 MB


6,009 (1 today)
271 (who?)